New board members will strengthen Cybera’s education, non-profit focus

Cybera is pleased to welcome three new members to our Board of Directors.

Roy Daykin, John Schutte, and Helen Wetherly Knight will bring impressive experience and knowledge of the education and not-for-profit sectors to Cybera’s board.

Roy Daykin
Chief Financial Officer and Vice President, Corporate Services, SAIT

Roy Daykin

With more than 30 years in the education system, Roy has a wealth of knowledge and post-secondary experience. As a key member of SAIT’s leadership team, he oversees the organization’s financial, technology, and capital planning. His goal is to ensure the efficient and effective operations are in alignment with SAIT’s students-first mandate. 

Prior to joining SAIT, Roy previously served as Vice President, Employee and Corporate Services, at Okanagan College in British Columbia. He has extensive institutional leadership experience in finance, human resources, facilities, technology, risk management and business services.

John Schutte
Director of Information Technology, Calgary Catholic School Division

John Schutte

With over 20 years of IT experience, exceptional communication skills, and a strong technical background, John is able to tackle the ever-growing demands of business and deliver innovative solutions. He has developed and led strong IT focused teams, and implemented strategies and principles that are clearly aligned with his school district’s goals and objectives.

John is passionate about mentoring the next generation of leaders and pushing the envelope through innovation.

Helen Wetherley Knight
Principal and Chief Information Officer, Helen Knight Consulting

Helen Wetherley Knight

With over 20 year’s experience as a visionary and strategist, Helen leads award-winning, significant and meaningful technology transformations across Canada. She works extensively in the non-profit space, advising organizations large and small on how best to realize the promise of technology. 

In her spare time, Helen runs, a support hub for non-profits wanting to learn better ways to work. She is also the President of the Calgary Chapter of the CIO Association of Canada.   

The three were sworn in at Cybera’s September 2020 AGM. They replaced outgoing board members Darryl Vleeming, Jaymon Lefebvre, and Brenda MacDonald. Cybera would like to thank Darryl, Jaymon and Brenda for their support and commitment to moving our mandate forward during their time on our board!

Click here to view the full list of Cybera board members.